1987 Tour de l’Avenir – Road Sign


Authentic Tour de France Race Sign

Out of stock

SKU: COL-0006 Category:


The Tour de l’Avenir is a French road bicycle racing stage race, which started in 1961 as a race similar to the Tour de France and over much of the same course but for amateurs and for semi-professionals. Felice Gimondi, Joop Zoetemelk, Greg LeMond, Miguel Indurain and Laurent Fignon won the Tour de l’Avenir and went on to win 12 Tours de France between them.

Over the years, the Tour de l’Avenir has been known by various names. It became the Grand Prix de l’Avenir in 1970, the Trophée Peugeot de l’Avenir from 1972 to 1979 and the Tour de la Communauté Européenne from 1986 to 1990. It was restricted to amateurs from 1961 to 1980, before opening to professionals in 1981. After 1992, it was open to all riders of less than 25 and is now for riders 23 or younger.

Size: 22.25 x 11.25  inches  (56.5 x 28.5 cm)

This is a one of a kind item, please look carefully at the photos to determine condition.